Cluster System

National Blood Transfusion Service (NBTS) Sri Lanka is a special campaign under the ministry of health.  It has a unique role providing timely supply of quality assured blood and blood components and related laboratory, clinical, academic and research services for the entire government sector hospitals and for the majority of the private sector hospital in the country.
NBTS consists of 108 hospital based blood banks affiliated to 24 cluster centers based on their geographic location. National Blood Center at Elvitigala Mawatha Narahenpita is the operational headquarters where national policies are developed and implement for the efficient operation of blood bank network in the country. 

Cluster Centers and Affiliated Blood Banks

(These cluster centers, themselves also act as blood banks)